2

Well, obviously the answer is yes, because a question I took trouble answering, complete with a complex mock-up (and which the OP accepted) has been deleted.

Because it's been deleted I no longer have any links to it in my profile, so I can't give a link, although I expect high-rep members can see what I'm referring to.

Is this on? I thought that once a question had been answered it couldn't be deleted? I'm not sure it was "too localised", so I'd be surprised if it was closed and deleted. What happened to it?

| |
2

Well moderators can delete any question, but this was a self delete. Users with 10k rep can also vote to delete, but that's very rare on UX.

You can delete your own question if:

  • It is totally unanswered
  • Or if it has no upvoted answers (wasn't aware of this one either until recently)
  • It hasn't been closed within the last two days (to allow for reopening)

I agree that your answer shouldn't have been deleted since you put effort into it. It's partly my bad as well, I really should have closed it earlier since it's Not a Real Question (quite hard to tell what he's asking IMO). I've undeleted the post and closed it.

| |
  • Thanks. It hasn't reappeared yet, though. When it does, I'll edit it so it's clearer (as it appears that I did understand what the questioner wanted!) – Andrew Leach Jul 13 '12 at 19:11
  • @AndrewLeach It's ux.stackexchange.com/questions/23592/… . Should have popped back into your profile. It's not on the front page because it has a score of -4 (posts with a score -4 or lower don't show on the front page). You can see it on the /questions page/tab though. – Ben Brocka Jul 13 '12 at 19:16
  • Great. I didn't know about the -4 thing either! I've had a go at the question, so hopefully it's now worthy of consideration. – Andrew Leach Jul 13 '12 at 19:35

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .